Hooray for PR!

Standard

I’ve been reminiscing about my college years lately with graduation on the way. I am very thankful that I discovered this major in public relations. When I was a freshman I had no clue of what I really wanted to do but I took some business classes at a community college then transferred to Central. I had no clue about the PR major I came to this school planning on a marketing degree. Come to find out at the end of my first year here marketing wasn’t really what I thought it was going to be. I found out about the PR major from another girl who switched over from the college of business, what PR was all about. I was sold her PR magic (little bit she had at the time) worked on me. After taking some intro PR classes I was hooked, I figured out that PR was actually what I thought marketing was going to be like little did I know how different and similar they were. 

Anyways I am so happy I discovered this major and I’m really looking forward to what I will end up doing with it!

… That’s another thing now that I’m graduating I have been asked the question “what are you planning on doing with your major?” seriously the most frustrating question to be asked! My answer is usually “well I’m not really sure right now.” And some people see that as a bad thing but I see it as an opportunity for endless possibilities! In PR there are so many different aspects of the field that could lead you down a million different paths, I think that’s what I like so much about the major. Last year I wanted to work in the wine industry as a PR rep, now this year I want to be involved in events planning. There are so many things you can dip your feet into in PR to find out what really is a great fit for you and will develop into a lifelong career.  

Well those are my PR thoughts for today!

~Chelsea  

Leave a Reply

